Club History

Our heritage dates back nearly 100 years. We know that the Club has been known as Richmond AFC (1945), Cameron United (1960’s) and The Young Conservatives (1960’s), Richmond Town AFC and today’s Richmond Town FC.
Our 1st team plays its Football at Earls Orchard, where football has been played for the last 85 years. Currently voted the most scenic ground in non-league football due to the mighty Norman Castle dominating the surroundings. Looking up closely will reveal the joist holes which supported the balcony from where the Earl and his court would watch the knights of old jousting on Earls Orchard below. So it can be seen that sport at Earls Orchard has some very long and historical roots. The pavilion currently standing was opened on 2nd March 1975, by Jack Charlton OBE, who was at the time manager of Middlesbrough FC, Jack had played for Leeds United, for over 17 years and helped them win nearly every honour at club and European levels, his greatest moment must have been as a member of the England World Cup winning team in 1966.
Our current crop of players compete in the Wearside League which is step 7 of the national league system, this league feeds directly into the Northern League Division 2, which is where our ambition is to belong.
We also have a reserve team, which plays in the Wensleydale League, and a veterans team that plays in the Sunderland Steels Club over 40’s League. We also boast an extensive junior team set up of 17 teams covering every age group and offers football to boys and girls.